Jackson wins at Salem; Bailey Takes Championship


2010 ARCA Truck Series Champion Chris Bailey Jr (Photo by JD Scott)

Salem, IN (!0-3-07) – It was a cold and blustery Sunday afternoon in southern Indiana as the ARCA Truck Series ran their 2010 season finale at Salem Speedway.  At the start of the morning, the ARCA Truck Series championship had come down to two drivers: Point leader and Rookie sensation Chris Bailey, Jr., of South Park, PA and ATS veteran Frank Wilson, Jr., of Belmont, WV in the 2nd spot.

 Qualifying was held and Danny Jackson was fastest posting a time of 18.080.  Per the ARCA Truck Series rules, Danny rolled a 10 for the inversion putting Nathan Trepkowski of Ubly, MI and Steve Christman of Fort Wayne, IN on the front row.  Both of those competitors decided to work on their trucks during the impound session and were forced to go to the tail along with European road racing veteran Davide Amaduzzi of Bologna, Italy who broke a power steering line during qualifying.  That put the series’ point leader Bailey and Tully Esterline of Indianapolis, IN on the front row for the start of the event.

 Tully Esterline jumped out to the lead as it appeared Bailey was content to play it safe and protect his point lead.  Esterline was able to pace the field for the first 4 laps as Danny Jackson made his march to the front and took the lead on lap 5. Bailey in the mean time had fallen in line in 7th place as Frank Wilson slowly worked his way to the front.  Wilson started 5th and went to 3rd in the first few laps and went around Esterline on lap 13 for second.  Mike Young of Toledo, OH, marched through the field as he passed for 3rd on lap 24 and went around Wilson on lap 29 for second.  Everyone seemed content to hold their position until a lap 37 caution when Rob Jones of Trenton, OH looped his truck in the middle of turns 3 & 4.  He was able to drive away and continue.  The restart put Jackson and Young on the front row.  Jackson again jumped out front and Young faded.  Bad went to worse as smoke billowed out from under the hood of Young’s #23 as a broken water pump ended his afternoon.  That moved Wilson back to 2nd and he began his slow charge on Jackson who had jetted out to a 20 truck length lead.  Wilson’s lap times were mimicking Jackson’s as they both hit lapped traffic.  Jackson sliced through lap traffic as Wilson patiently moved around each truck.  On lap 56 Steve Christman in his familiar #99 spun in the middle of turns 1 & 2 ending his afternoon.  The lap 57 restart put Jackson and Wilson on the front row but it became apparent Wilson was having some troubles as his engine began misfiring under caution.  On the restart Jackson again jumped out to a sizable lead as Wilson just drove his truck to the bottom as he lost the alternator.  That allowed series veteran Tully Esterline to jump into 2nd.  The last 18 laps were drama-free as Jackson blasted away from the field to take the win in his #51 Redbank Transport/Lykins Company/Hart Machine/Doug Miller Performance Chevrolet.

Second went to Tully Esterline in his Rupp Seeds Chevrolet.  Taking the checkers third was Ash Hawkins of Canfield, OH in his A & K Racing Chevrolet.  Fourth went to Nathan Trepkowski of Ubly, MI in his B & J Auto Center/Ubly Auto Supply Chevrolet and rounding out the top was the new ARCA Truck Series Champion Chris Bailey JR, of South Park, PA in his #17 C.A. Bailey Excavating/Will’s Warriors Chevrolet.

 Bailey will be officially crowned Champion at the annual series banquet November 13 at the Park Hotel in downtown Toledo, OH.  Details about the event will be released in the coming weeks on the Series website, www.ArcaTruckRacing.com

Filed Under: Featured ArticleHeadlines


About the Author

Comments are closed.